Home   | About   | Contact  | Lyrics  | Tabs  | Forum

The Igloo

Go Back   The Igloo > Damien Rice > Musician Stuff

View Poll Results: Music Lessons or No Lessons?
No Training 8 50.00%
Formal Training 8 50.00%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Old 06-23-2006, 03:48 PM   #1
purebloom
Eskimo Friend

Default Read Music or Self-taught?

Okay, first off this isn't meant to put anyone down... but I'd like everyone to answer honestly.

I myself am a self-taught musician and pride myself in my abilities. I'm not the greatest guitarist, but I've been playing for 14 years (I'm 21).

Currently, I am taking piano lessons and advancing rapidly because of my somewhat understood but informal knowledge of music. I am finally learning how to actually READ music and am learning theory... both of which I think can only help a self-taught musician.

So, if you only read tabs, or know very little theory or how to read music then vote that you have had "No Training". If you have taken many lessons and can easily sight read to a piece select "Formal Training".

I'd like to see how many musicians we have on here who have had training vs. no training.

And once again, there is nothing wrong with not having training experience... I know there are musicians who have made it big that have never had lessons. However, I truly believe it can only help.

In addition to this poll also feel free to discuss how you feel on the issue.

Last edited by purebloom; 06-23-2006 at 03:51 PM.
purebloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 05:14 PM   #2
Livo
Eskimo Frames Expert