Home   | About   | Contact  | Lyrics  | Tabs  | Forum

The Igloo

Go Back   The Igloo > Damien Rice > Damien's Gigs

Old 09-22-2014, 07:55 PM   #1
DesoleInBoston
Eskimo Regular

Default What is Damien's camera policy?

Hey there,
I've had terrible luck trying to take my Nikon D90 with a modest little portrait lens into venues lately in Boston. Glen Hansard didn't even allow iPhone photos when he was here last year. Does anyone have an idea what to expect at the Warsaw or the Box shows in New York? Does Damien usually have a camera policy? I'm a photographer by trade so I feel naked without one...thanks for any info!
DesoleInBoston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:13 PM   #2
glo32
Eskimo Regular

Just turn off the flash... He used to get annoyed by cameras, especially flashes... I remember in 2006-2007 he did a lot of speeches against camera at concerts. Sometimes he was like "put your cameras down and just enjoy the moment". He once turned his back on the crowd while singing, because of too many flashes. It's not that cameras weren't allowed but of course you knew he didn't like them.
Then in 2012 he seemed more relaxed at gigs and you could say he didn't mind that much... and after a show he said something like "I used to take a lot of photos when I was young and then I realized it was stupid and that living the moment is a better memory than looking at photos, and after that I started getting angry at people that took photos or watched a concert through a camera because they weren't really enjoying the moment, for me. But now I realize everyone has his way of enjoying a moment or to set it into memory, and now I don't mind cameras anymore. If I think that cameras are the problem, that's because I'm not into the song in that moment... because if I am into the song and into what I'm doing, I don't even see cameras anymore"

so I think he still doesn't like cameras flashing into his eyes when he's on stage but he won't get that annoyed by it anymore.